{teaser trailer} Firekeeper’s Daughter (2021)

by Angeline Boulley
ASN/ISBN: 978150766564
Publication: March 16, 2021

I’m excited to be part of the Firekeeper Friday team helping Fierce Reads reveal this latest teaser trailer for YA thriller Firekeeper’s Daughter from Angeline Boulley. Thrillers are one of my least read genres because they make me antsy. I immediately want to turn to the end so I can figure out what happens but I’m making an exception for Firekeeper’s Daughter. I really wouldn’t have signed up to be part of the team if it didn’t sound good. (I’d have waited for someone to read it and beg them to tell me what happened…)

For more information on the book, check out the WEBSITE. You’ll find an EXCERPT as well as a PREORDER GIVEAWAY!

Description

Debut author Angeline Boulley crafts a groundbreaking YA thriller about a Native teen who must root out the corruption in her community, for readers of Angie Thomas and Tommy Orange.

As a biracial, unenrolled tribal member and the product of a scandal, eighteen-year-old Daunis Fontaine has never quite fit in, both in her hometown and on the nearby Ojibwe reservation. Daunis dreams of studying medicine, but when her family is struck by tragedy, she puts her future on hold to care for her fragile mother.

The only bright spot is meeting Jamie, the charming new recruit on her brother Levi’s hockey team. Yet even as Daunis falls for Jamie, certain details don’t add up and she senses the dashing hockey star is hiding something. Everything comes to light when Daunis witnesses a shocking murder, thrusting her into the heart of a criminal investigation.

Reluctantly, Daunis agrees to go undercover, but secretly pursues her own investigation, tracking down the criminals with her knowledge of chemistry and traditional medicine. But the deceptions—and deaths—keep piling up and soon the threat strikes too close to home.

Now, Daunis must learn what it means to be a strong Anishinaabe kwe (Ojibwe woman) and how far she’ll go to protect her community, even if it tears apart the only world she’s ever known.
(from Goodreads)

And if you haven’t seen the first trailer, here it is: